More on Closed Communion

Following Met. Kallistos’ thoughts on closed communion, posted below, I thought it would also be helpful to share the following episode of “Our Life in Christ” on the same topic. These guys have a knack for making the complex accessible, and for explaining difficult points of view with kindness. I can’t promise you’ll like what you hear. But perhaps this will be helpful in bringing greater understanding, making clear what is so often confusing to Christians who approach Orthodoxy from other traditions.

Play Audio: Our Life in Christ – Closed Communion

2 responses to “More on Closed Communion

  1. Grace and peace to you.

    Thank you for your kind words. I would agree with your friend’s comment. This last year at Nashotah House has really left me with no other options. After taking a year of history and historical theology, I kept asking myself ‘why am I not in the Orthodox Church,’ over and over.

    There is a big difference between, being orthodox in my faith and practice and actually being Orthodox. I was trying to keep it together in TEC or ACNA. But all I have been doing up to now is torturing myself by not being in communion with the people I most agree with and want to grow with.

  2. “I was trying to keep it together in TEC or ACNA. But all I have been doing up to now is torturing myself by not being in communion with the people I most agree with and want to grow with.”

    I know exactly what you mean. I realized that all along my acceptance of Anglicanism was contingent upon how Orthodox it would let me be. Even in my attempt to embrace Anglicanism, I found myself constantly drawing Orthodoxy into conversations and looking to Eastern Christians for answers over against anyone else. At some point I realized that what I wanted was to be Orthodox and that I couldn’t (and shouldn’t try) to make Anglicanism something other than what it is.

    Grace and peace to you as well.

Leave a Reply

